My Funny Valentine …

 valentine-2

‘… sweet comic valentine, you make me smile with my heart. Your looks are laughable, unphotographable’ .  Really?  don’t plan on a kiss from me …  A very popular song, yet I wonder why.

We could also discuss the St.Valentines Day Massacure, but no point in that.  So, lets get to the heart of the matter..

valentine-6

.

February 14 around the year 278 A.D., Valentine, a holy priest in Rome in the days of Emperor Claudius II, was executed.

.

…    valentine 2-3

Claudius the Cruel of Rome was involved in many unpopular and bloody campaigns. The Cruel believed that the Roman men were unwilling to join his army because of their strong attachment to their wives and families. So what did he do? he banned all marriages and engagements. Valentine, realizing the injustice, defied Claudius and continued to perform marriages for young lovers in secret. When the ruler discovered his betrayal, he condemned the holy priest to be beaten to death with clubs, and to have his head cut off. The date, February 14.

.

……………..      valentine 3-4

.

During the Middle Ages, it was commonly believed in France and England that February 14 was the beginning of birds’ mating season, which added to the idea that Valentine’s Day should be a day for romance.  So, Cupid shows again.  This time on Valentine Cards. (which were mass produced in Michigan in the 1880’s) Remember, he is the chubby little symbol of love.  So how did chocolate candies join in the festivities ?  Oh, it’s a long story but I will jump to the end. Herseys’ mass produced chocolate candy that all could afford.  Marketing execs jumped in, made a heart shaped box and filled it with Sweet Edible Delights! And today, anything pink, chocolate, sweet, red, or heart shaped says I love you.  ( how’s that? )

.

……………………………   valentine 2

.

All of which brings me to my SWEETS!  and my photo’s.  Again, I love the strawberry that is not fully in focus, and the ripple of the white chocolate bark.  What’s your opinion?     Be Nice  … ( just a stamp on a Necco heart)

.

…………….   valentine 3-5

For his great service, Valentine was named a saint after his death.

.

………………………………….      valentine4

It is also written that while in jail, St. Valentine left a farewell note for his friend, the jailer’s daughter, and signed it “From Your Valentine.”

.

……..     valentine 3

9 thoughts on “My Funny Valentine …

  1. Oh me!! You had to post all the wonderful mouthing watering desserts on the first day of Lent. Oh my soul-should I cheat? Great job – you get better and better, and you come up with stories that are so enlightenting and entertaining. Hooray for you
    As always, XXOO, Mattie

  2. Great post and wonderful shots. Love the history you are incorporating. Yes, lets have coffee on Sunday at 9, if you’re still game. I can show you my newest project. One began a long time ago and morphing into the new tech. Pat

  3. Ash Wednesday had PACZKI day and VALENTINE’s as bookends, oh my…stuck in the middle with U! I am NOT ‘feeling the water’, I am tasting the berries, licking the frosting, swiping the chocolate with my finger and poking the meringue with my nose. This sweet stuff is SERIOUS!

  4. I should NOT have looked at these before dinner! Delicious, mouth-watering, and as usual, great and timely history lesson.

  5. Love hearing the back story behind the Valentaines Day! Love the reveal and conceal in last photograph of strawberry and opening closeup shot of the other strawberry. The melting cream portion of pie under the rasberries is mouthwatering delicious!

  6. your stories are so entertaining!! i had no idea all this wonderful story telling has just waiting to come out of you! you have two amazing talents mitch that you should be so proud of. now lets get you out there for readers and restaurants and magazines to discover you!!

  7. Argh — Desserts in the first week of Lent — killin’ me with sweetness! What the fructose… And such erudition; the literary corollary to calculus! Go figure…

Leave a Reply

