It’s all about the sandwich ….

sandwiches-2

So, you thought I was doing great.  Great shots, great color, great substance … great day in the neighborhood.  Well, so did I ….   Ohhh, how wrong I was. By the results of my recent photo’s, it looked like my career ended before it began.   I got out of the gate, was ridin’ close to the inner rail, passing my wildest hurdles when my lucky horseshoe flew off and hit me in the arse !     “#*%”    ( starts with an s )   So what did I do?  I got back on that horse with no name, and started again, feeling as if I had never handled a camera before  ….. not good!

What I really wanted was to dazzle you, to blow you away with images that triggered triumph.  I’ll have to get back to you on that one, but in the meantime, let’s see what I’ve been taking shots at …

Grinders, sandwiches, hoagies, submarines. ‘The history of the “grinder” dates back to WWI when Italian immigrants set up sandwich shops close to the shipyards along the East Coast and served large subs to the naval yard workers who were grinding off the metal rivets on the ships (hence, the name “grinders.”) The sandwiches were typically made with fresh Italian bread or rolls and then loaded with meat and cheese and then baked.’ (yahoo)

These days, a grinder, or sandwich,  is basically anything you put between two pieces of bread.

remember to click on the images

.

sandwiches-9

.

sandwiches 11

JJ, those are for you.  I grappled with these ‘full figured’ sam I am’s.  I wanted to get the whole lunch in one shot, an image I struggle to see thru my cameras’ eye.  I think they are OK, not runway material, but OK.

I have more …

.

………………………………………………………..     sandwiches-5

.

………………………………………..sandwiches-4

.

As you can see, I have defaulted to the way I fancy it.  Even though these were shot my way, I must say it took its toll.  I clicked away far too many times to come up with these ‘seemingly’ easy images. Trail and error, after error, after error.

…………………….          sandwiches-6

……………………………………………      sandwiches..

Did you notice the watermark on the stacked grilled cheese image?  md photography.  Well, I put it there, but for the life of me cannot remember how.  It ain’t elementary my dear friends, it ain’t elementary …  at least not for this technically impaired photo gal.

9 thoughts on “It’s all about the sandwich ….

  1. The stacked grilled cheese is fun, unexpected and turns the ordinary into extraordinary. First thing I noticed was ‘md’. Keep stacking and grilling those photos.

  2. Thanks for thinking of me! I loved the watermark! We can figure out how you did that. Call me. I thought grinders were born in East Lansing, MI. Silly me.

  3. Love #2 composition,#3 flakey meat also in #5 looks so fresh and appetizing – also the watermark and history of grinders.

  4. I was quite impressed with the water mark. I hope you can figure out how to replicate it. I also love the specificity of the sesame seeds in your sandwiches. Gorgeous pics!!

Leave a Reply

