Salads, and different points of ‘view’ …

Hmmmm, salads and my points of ‘view’.  I have learned a lot from this post, most importantly, do not over dress anything when photographing. I am not a stylist by choice, but learning. Too much oil and vinegar coats the food which makes it hard to get a crisp photo. Half the battle is to make the food look delicious …  Salads are not easy for me.  I made 3 different salads, and photographed each with different angles, just testing myself to know that I could, or that I needed to try harder.  Bottom line, I need to try harder.  Let me show you.

The first salad is a saturated black rice with mangos, oranges, scallions, and peanuts …. really delicious!   I photographed the bird’s eye view, the plated side angle, and the uc&p .  Lets look:

.

salads 3

.

salads-3

and my way …

……………………………………………..  salads-2

Yes yes, I know …

.

Now, lets scrutinize the second salad.  A Great Northern Bean salad with mint, parsley, scallions, radishes, capers… and olives.

………………………  salads 4

.

This recipe came from Better Homes and Gardens.  No laughing aloud, or allowed, it’s not even close to the magazine photo.  I have work to do …

Here are the different views:

……………………………  salads 2

Do you see the golden light reflecting off the metal dish?   That is my porch light, shining in   ……   oops !

.

salads-5

You know which one I favor.

.

And lastly I have a Quinoa salad with tomatoes and other delights.

This again is the eagle eye shot that seems to be so popular these days.

………………………..  salads-8

and …….

……………………………………….  salads 1

.

and one more of a tomato drenched in oils:

.

……………………………………  salads 2-2

.

any comments ?  bring ’em on !

9 thoughts on “Salads, and different points of ‘view’ …

  1. M, I really like the sparse white bean shot- very different and looks delicious to me. I really like the closeup of the quinoa and the eagle view shot showing white plate- but what is that gelatinous circular shape between the red tomato on the left and yellow tomato? Maybe that should have been removed and the transparent green onion outer layer to make it perfect. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

