They called me Stewart …

…. Maaa-tha Stewart, but it was short-lived…

.

tomatoes_

Remember I am working on stage 3 of Farm to Market to Table.  At my friend Cary’s farm, I plucked these tomatoes from the vine, let them ripen a bit, then took ’em to the knife. I have two different dishes to show you, the latter stripped me of my title…  First, lets look at these plump delicious tomatoes, right from the field.

tomatoes 2

Martha Stewart’s magazine cover donned this dish.  Looks easy enough, and it was…  looks good enough to eat, and it was …. so the fun begins.

.

.

……………….. tomatoe bread 4-2

.

.

tomatoe bread 4  .

You do see the table, right??     well look again …

.

.

……….. tomatoe bread 4-3

.

.

…………….  tomatoe bread 3-2

.

My next, and final dish, is also from Martha.  Perhaps I should explain the dish to you, it may help you to see it my way ….  I roasted fresh tomatoes, on the vine, with a bit of balsamic vinegar, a touch of brown sugar, a drizzle of olive oil, salted and peppered then gently place on top of a grilled baguette, slathered with goat cheese and served with a pinch of fresh thyme and basil……  I will re-shoot this dish, it needs a second chance at stardom, but this is what I have here and now..

.

roasted tomatoe bread.

.

…………….  roasted tomatoes 3-2

.

.

roasted tomatoe bread-3

.

I am still amazed at how other photographers manage to show the table, with all that food in the

way …

.roasted tomatoes 3

8 thoughts on “They called me Stewart …

  1. Tables can be wood, formica, glass, plastic, marble, or even bread. These photos capture the newborn, the middle aged and the sun kissed retiree, tomato. Re painting my walls, TOMATO!

Leave a Reply

