My old foe has had a change of heart …

Yes, you remember Light. Light was in my way, making trouble at every turn, every f/stop, every angle, every distance, with every single subject I photographed. Now mind you, I came across this all by mistake, I had no idea that Light had taken a fancy to me. Let me explain:

.

tomato light 5-7

.

I saw a simple photograph of a tomato in a magazine.  A clean and classic tomato, nothing else. The subject was lit from head to toe, with just the right amount of highlights, an image I have had trouble creating, as simple as it may seem. Sitting on my counter in the kitchen was the perfect specimen, so I grabbed it, and started to shoot.  The difference this time was that I had a plan. And my plan worked. At some point between then and now, and here and there, I had been struck by lightning  I, me, Michelle, was able to steer the light, the light was working for me.

.very simple examples below

tomato light 6 . tomato light 6-2 . tomato light 6-3

.

.

tomato9

.

Subtle, yes. But, I can see it, and I controlled it. I don’t expect you to be as hopped up as I am. You see, I have been learning to photograph food now for 18 months. I know the principles, I understand the concepts, but today, here and now, my eyes were opened. Yes, I’ll own slow learner, but better late than never. Normally I would  manipulate the available light, hoping to achieve what my minds eye could see. Today I had the upper hand in this mistakenly simple exercise. Of course some of this can be adjusted in post processing, but I need to know the basics. You see, it’s not just about light. It’s about the amount of light, the color of light, the direction of light, the lack of light. It’s all about the mood you want to set, the message you want to reveal, and picture you want to portray. But ultimately, it’s about the know how, and I am realizing I know how. No no no, I didn’t say I had arrived, but I’m on my way! Thomas Jefferson once said, “Composition is, for  the most part, an effort of slow diligence and steady perseverance …”       Touche’ Tomas, how right you are …                       

8 thoughts on “My old foe has had a change of heart …

  1. Congratulations. It’s so important to have victories in life, that we, ourselves, recognize! I love the pictures, but your words resound with confidence and “know how” and that’s the sound of personal satisfaction. It is truly fulfilling to work hard, to have mastery and purpose. Hooray for Michelle.

  2. What an epiphany for you to bring your learning into wisdom of the command of light – your patience, diligence, and perseverance brought this into your light!

  3. A tomato with out light is like your blog with out your anticdotal comments. No flavor and pretty on the outside buy cannot stand alone.

  4. body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}Love it!  Uncle ED

Leave a Reply

