Happy Thanksgiving … (again)

 …… and God Bless America !

Turkey blog-11I had a brainstorm, I was going to photograph a turkey farm! On my way there I called my sister to see if she wanted me to pick up a fresh turkey for the Thanksgiving meal.  The sound of disgust in her voice took me back. Turkey blog-10Hey! I’m going to get photo’s’,  I reassured myself …. and I did, but in the first few moments I saw the flip side.

.Turkey blog

I did get many good shots, but I will refrain from showing most of them here. I will have to tread lightly for everyone who is reading this post, especially if that is the intended meal on the 28th! Turkey blog-3

Turkey blog-4

Hmmm, what will I do now ?  ‘Slaughter House 5’ can only go so far…

Turkey blog again

As I was driving through the countryside of Northern Illinois, I saw America the Beautiful. That’s it!  I had rented a wide angle lense a day prior, and wanted to test it out. A challenge for which I was ready, willing and able, let’s give it a go!

…………………..  Turkey blog-7

.

Turkey blog-13.

…….     Turkey blog-2      …      Turkey blog-15

.

.………….    Turkey blog-9

“On October 3, 1863, Abraham Lincoln proclaimed, by Act of Congress, an annual National Day of Thanksgiving on the last Thursday of November.  In this Thanksgiving proclamation, our 16th President says that it is…

“…announced in the Holy Scriptures and proven by all history, that those nations are blessed whose God is the Lord… But we have forgotten God. We have forgotten the gracious hand which preserved us in peace and multiplied and enriched and strengthened us, and we have vainly imagined, by the deceitfulness of our hearts, that all these blessings were produced by some superior wisdom and virtue of our own… It has seemed to me fit and proper that God should be solemnly, reverently and gratefully acknowledged, as with one heart and one voice, by the whole American people…”    Catherine Millard

.

Turkey blog-8

and a Happy Thanksgiving… a bit early!

10 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving … (again)

  1. Those poor turkeys – not knowing what is coming? Love the countryside shots – beautiful indeed. And what a gorgeous day to shoot photos. Can’t get that Palin video out of my head way back when she was visiting a turkey farm and the slaughtering was going on behind her. Awful.

  2. The photos of the countryside are beautiful except the ones of the long white barns with the vents. I know what is in there.

  3. I find the landscspe photo’s particularily gorgeous and haunting in light of all the tornados that just ravaged Illinois.

  4. Hi Your pictures were great. Keep up the good work. Brings back memories, when my kids were little we took them to the Ho Ka Turkey farm and it was so much fun. Have a great Thanksgiving. Love you.

Leave a Reply

