Tweeking my path, to enhance my photo’s ….

last of Italy-24

I have been contemplating my photography… again.  The one thing I do know is that I cannot go back to making my own delights,everyday, and keep trying to make them look good.  I noticed a leap in my work when I photographed someone else’s edible delights, a true chef/stylist.  I feel like I am taking a step backwards when I zoom in on my scrambled eggs, pop my muffins for a photo, or light my sorry plate of whatever. In order to perfect my skills, I need to photograph everything ! Therefore, until the opportunity arises, which it will, I am out and about looking for edible delights in fairs, markets, festivals, back street noise, anywhere!!   last of Italy-9

In the meantime, while I improve my camera skills …… the last shots of Italy.   We all know I am a detail shooter, but using a wide-angle lens was fun and different, in fact it has helped me to pull back from my subject of interest.  Wish I had a wider lens while I was away, but here they are, the good, the bad, and the ugly… click on the images for better viewing.

.

I can’t travel abroad and just shoot the food, I had to capture the ambiance that strolls hand in hand.  Some of our best meals were tucked around corners, under arch’s, or ‘down two then left’ of the man on the scooter.

last of Italy-18 . last of Italy-28 . panini 9  One of the more common edible delights are the Panini, every nook and cranny serves them. Panini is plural, panino is singular.

.

panini 3 . sammies

pizzaAnd la pizza … My first meal was at La Capriocciosa in Roma. I devoured a pizza bianca con funghi. The crust was thin and crisp with a hint of salt. The funghi… sautéed to perfection. I wasn’t about to share that meal, the curl in my lip said it all ! 

Frescoes and skeletons from inside the church of Santa Maria della Rocca in the medieval town of Offida. The church is considered one of the main architectural features of the whole Marche region.

last of Italy-21  .  last of Italy-20  . last of Italy-22 .

There is so much history everywhere you turn. I cannot share it with you here and now, this post would never end ….  but as a travel photographer?  yes, that’s easy to imagine, I’d have to practice. Hmmm, I could practice in Portugal, I could practice in Budapest, and I can practice in Chicago. Ready and willing !  This photogal can only get better !

last of Italy-14

.

streets and panini-15. Fermo 1 .streets and panini-3 . Fermo views-4 . Fermo views

The above scenes were photographed in Citta’ di Fermo.  Fermo is a hill town near the Adriatic coast, well known for the impressive views in all directions across the surrounding region. Carlo, the opera singer, invited me to go with him to the Concorso Corale Nazionale. He was one of the photographers for this national event. Another experience off the beaten path that I thoroughly enjoyed. Ringrazio Carlo !   In the Piazza del Popolo I had to pull up a chair, a glass, and a smoke.  When in Fermo …

.

last of Italy-23

La Campana , a retreat and jewel, in Le Marche.  It started 26 years ago when 35 people from Milan wanted to change their lives… so they did.  Today it’s an amazing get-away, centrally located to many of the small towns dotted through-out the region. The residents live much like a commune is run, but greatly refined from the 60’s era.     www.lacampana.it last of Italy-25
.

Ah yes, Roma !

last of Italy-26

A stunning view of St. Peters Basilica from the Edens Hotel.  I savored this view while enjoying a glass of Montepulciano D’Abruzzo,  and some other Italian delights.

last of Italy-7

……………..  A

.

last of Italy-5 waiting, and waiting, for Papa …   last of Italy-13 .. last of Italy-29 .. a view from the top of the Spanish Steps..

.

last of Italy-8

.

The Trevi Fountain where I threw in a wish … last of Italy-27 ……..  hmmm,  still waiting !

    And you know you’re eating well at my house, Italy serves “Deiter Dogs” !

streets and panini 4

              Arrivederci per ora bella Italia !

12 thoughts on “Tweeking my path, to enhance my photo’s ….

  1. Gorgeous shots, Michelle. They made me feel as if I were there with you, enjoying the sights, smells and sounds along with the Montepulciano D’Abruzzo. The Deiter dogs, though, take the cake! : )

  2. Let’s play ‘false’. Your photography is illustrating a beautiful excursion. Close up and personal and, ‘ from a distance the world looks blue and green and the snow capped mountains…..’. Let’s play ‘false’.

  3. Love the pictures from Italy!! Great perspectives/ angles! Travel photo girl for sure!!! Need an assistant?;) xx

  4. body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}Love it!  Uncle Ed

  5. I’m am always contemplating my photography and setting new goals. Its the only way to grow. Fantastic food photography and images of your travels. I love the combination. Looking forward to your pictures of edible delights from anywhere!! 🙂

  6. These are some stunning pictures — and the ones of the streets of Italy are classic. But the food, oh the food — since I started reading this blog, I can’t seem to lose any weight. I’m hungry!

  7. Beautiful pics! La Campana is one of my suppliers of their superb biological products (www.nostrapassione.com) Try their Pomodori al Naturale or Composti e Mostardi. Amazing!!

Leave a Reply

