My 15 Minutes ….

Boy oh boy!  First I want to thank all of you who read, commented, passed or smoked my last post.  My 15 minutes of fame was over the top! I cannot thank you enough!   So, where do I go from here? downhill, all downhill, I’m going to crash and burn …  

I have been trying every which way but loose to take photo’s that will come close to my images of ‘Up North”… and it ain’t easy! However, through these trying days, I have discovered something about myself. I love night photography.  I’m decent at it, not great, nothing to write home about, but decent … so the challenge begins, I can only get better!Belvedere House

My first attempt, after HS, was shooting in Galena, Illinois.  Picturesque, historical, and festive, everything this photo gal was looking for.

The city is named for the mineral ‘galena’. Once one of the most important cities in the state, Galena was a hub on the Mississippi River between  St. Louis and St Paul.  Following a sharp decline in the demand for lead, which had been the city’s chief income source during the early 19th century, Galena’s population dropped from 14,000 in the mid 19th century, to 3,396 in the early 21st century. (wiki)

.

chicago-galena

 

This next photo is of the Desoto House Hotel.  Opening its door in 1855, the Desoto House is “Illinois’ Oldest Operating Hotel.  “Throughout the years we have welcomed such memorable guests as Abraham Lincoln, William Jennings Bryan, and serving as the presidential campaign headquarters for Ulysses S. Grant just to name a few.”

.

chicago-galena-2

.

Because this post is about Night Photography, I will now head to downtown Chicago.  The temperature was -16 degrees, and the wind chill somewhere in the negative 30’s. We, my husband and I, were out and about for 3 and 1/2 hours …. not a soul in sight!

.

……….. chicago-galena-3

My kind of portrait, go ahead, I’m smiling …

chicago-galena-5

.

Even though the wind was biting, we couldn’t wait to shoot at our next location.  We were having a ball ! I should do a post on bridges alone, I think we captured each and every one.

.

chicago-galena-6

.

………..  chicago-galena-4

It is now the stroke of midnight, and time for these two frozen fools to go home, whip up a hot toddy, and hit the sheets.  Until next time …

16 thoughts on “My 15 Minutes ….

  1. WOW!!!!!!!Your night shots our what we all dream of,exceptional!!!!!!!!!! Truely they are beautiful, and thanks for the history of Galena.

  2. There is no box square enough to hold you back! You are ‘Dancing in the Streets with Martha’, I mean Bill. Keep your imagination on roam, it does not matter where your shutter shutters, always a great conversation.

  3. Definitely difficult to photograph at night and harder yet toachieve the contrasts of current life and dignified history–but you did it ! I stick with my opinion–you are a photojournalist!

  4. Let’s just face the facts.. you are a true artist whose lens paints the world in magnificent colors. This is fabulous and it was so fun to revisit Galena through your photos and be familiar with your “subjects.” Great job!

  5. Absolutely breathtaking, Michelle! I especially love the hotel in galena, the bean shots and the bridge!!! I would love to see ALL of your bridge shots, but I’m a bridge nut. I’m so glad for and proud of you, gf!

  6. Wow, your husband must really love you to go out with you on such a cold night!! Kudos to him and your excellent photos!

  7. Thank you for braving the cold to take such beautiful pictures of our city!

    Nancy Polich Sent from my iPhone

    >

  8. That was the night our train never came. These are beautiful Michelle. I see a book called great cities at night coming your way. You go girl!

  9. Loved your pictures of Galena. We spent a weekend there at the Hotel and it was wonderful. The pictures of the city in Chicago were fantastic. You are getting better and better. This something you should be very proud of. Thanks for sharing. LOVE

    t

    t

    w

  10. These photos of the bean are amazing. I have never seen it photographed so beautifully. Very unique. Really wonderful Michelle.

Leave a Reply

