I’ve Got The Blues …

St. Louis-9

Yes, I’ve got the blues…  You see my son, my one and only, my pride and joy, is heading off to college next year.  I realize a mothers job is never-ending, but on a day-to-day basis my main purpose in life will be coming to a halt. At first the phone calls will be frequent, then they will taper off, and the next thing you know it’s the obligatory call on Sunday. Ohhh, but wait, welcome to the 21st century ! … I can text him, I can facebook him, I can Skype him, I can email him, I can viber him, and I can call him anywhere at anytime !!   Now who has the blues?

St. Louis

I’m just having fun, the real reason I’ve got the blues is because I’m in St. Louis.  I’ve got the St. Louis Blues ! My one and only was accepted to SLU, St. Louis University.  A fine institution run by the Jesuits in a city with the down home mid-western hospitality that keeps a mothers worries at bay….

St. Louis-5

.

Also home to St. Louis is the Gateway Arch, a 630-foot high monument clad in stainless steel and built in the form of a flattened catenary arch. It is the tallest man-made monument in the United States, and was built as a tribute to the western expansion of the United States. It has also become the internationally famous symbol of St. Louis.

.

St. Louis-7

.

The arch was designed by Finnish-American architect and industrial designer Eero Saarinen, kin to my pal Kip. Eero was famous for varying his style according to the demands of the project: simple, sweeping, arching structural curves or machine-like rationalism.  Construction began on February 12, 1963, and was completed on October 28, 1965, at a total cost of $13 million USD. The monument opened to the public on June 10, 1967 and is now considered one of the masters of American 20th-century architecture.  wiki

.

St. Louis-6 St. Louis-2

One of the several challenges for me was how to capture the Arch with a different twist, a new angle or perspective.

Well, I think every angle possible has been photographed of this monument, and a new dimension to this subject is slim. The “difference” here is that I took these photos. I shot some photos as the sun was rising, I captured the afternoon light, and I went back out to fiddle in the dark. The early bird shoot was tough, I had spent the evening with old and dear friends, then continued to photograph after that. The morning rolled around quickly, and a much-needed hour was lost in space, only to be found in the Fall. I slapped the buzzer and wondered if I really wanted to get out of bed, get dressed, stumble to the elevator, and face the morning light. My next thought was that I’d never know what I could do if I didn’t try. So I tried, hence the “difference.”

.

Morning Light

15 thoughts on “I’ve Got The Blues …

  1. Uniquely yours!!!!! Wonderful – love the last two especially. Hope you have time for some
    ooey gooey butter cake!!!!!

  2. Spectacular shots, Michelle.. (BUT OF COURSE!!!) Jack will love that school and as I told you, Sarah is only a text/skype/f/b/viper on and on away! xox

  3. WOW, Tears and CHEERS. You did it once again. Beautiful progression of photos and words. The arch is shaped like a boomer rang. Launch Jack, he will come back..

  4. Michelle, you outdid yourself on these photo’s – fantastic! Bittersweet with your son going off to college but what a testimony to you as a parent. Love those 2 shots of the angles of the arch- the coloring in the sky against the metal is remarkable. The minimal composition in the other one and coloring is so pure looking. And the Bx W of the curvilinear river with black tree silhouettes looks like a classic to me.

  5. Mitch- These photos are beautiful! Jack is going to thrive at SLU and he is closer than you think. We will go visit for sure!

  6. A great new adventure for Jack in a great city which was captured in your photo’s with the iconic arch. Received the cards, fantastic!!!!! may just have to keep for myself, just kidding.

Leave a Reply

