My Split Personality …

I can hear my husband now, ”split personality ?  I’d say !”  

Spring is Near-5

Well, that’s not what I’m saying, I’m referring to my photography.  I can peg myself as the Queen of the up close and personal, however I’m hooked, line and sinker, on the wide-angle view. I have been reviewing my photos from the past two years, and I am amazed at how easy it was to delete many of them. I had kept them around to remind me of where I started, and to see how far I’d come. Since I have moved off of the table and into the field, I can see, and critique, better than before. Yes, I heard you, but I couldn’t see it.

Whoa, look at the muffin !!  Back off chubby!

What I realize now is that I did not welcome the viewer to enter into the frame, I stopped you at the entrance. This is my epiphany, right here, and right now, as I type.  It will be interesting to see how I use it.

In the meantime, I am working on photographing ‘weather’.  Today I will show you that Spring is near.

.

ice

.

My typical style is to zero in on a subject and to shoot wide, allowing the background to become blurred …. hence, a beautiful Bokeh.  Bokeh has been defined as “the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light”, and occurs for parts of the scene that lie outside the depth of field range. The first two images capture that scenario, but I wouldn’t call them suitable for framing.

.

Spring is Near-3

.

I took several photos of this icicle, a few different times, and each time with different camera settings.  These two were captured with an ISO of 200 at f11 and shutter speed of 1/1000. I was shooting with my 60mm micro lens.

.

Spring

.

I wasn’t crazy about any of these captures, so I went back outside to try again, only to find that my icicle had melted….

   So there’s your proof !    Happy Spring    …

 

11 thoughts on “My Split Personality …

  1. Happy Spring, Michelle. I look forward to the continuing evolution of your photography in the seasons to come. You have definitely come a long way, baby.

  2. Happy Spring indeed! Love the silver and gold tints. I am not sure I would have know what these photos were taken of without your description. They are very unique. Keep up the great work.

  3. I love the 2nd photo – would make a lovely New Years Card! I would love to see the gold and silver versions put together like side by side or on top of one another and framed/mounted together. Gorgeous~

  4. Oh, Michelle.. these are fabulous and what a enraptured revelation with your “off the table” and into the field comment. These shots are simply fantastic, although your eye doesn’t agree. I find each one of these icicles intriguing and festive. The golds, tans and browns and the light each photo captured is magical with each shutter speed you adjust. I loved that it had melted by the time you went back out to perfect your shoot. How funny! You are too cute and happy Spring to you, too!

  5. Beautiful!! Love the icicles. Going to have to move on to emerging leaves–my favorite. Soon.I hope. Great to see you and thanks for the wine. That’s a great spot. I like the bar downstairs better than where they had it before.

    Have a great time in the South! Pat

  6. I love the melted, frozen droplets in #2 & #3! From a broken icicle, a whole new entity — even if just for a moment… “We are the ocean contained in a drop.” — Rumi

Leave a Reply

