Pure Michigan

The last time I flew in a small aircraft I was reciting the Hail Mary, my head was tucked between my legs, and I was fearing for the worst. This time around was different, it was sheer ‘bliss’.

.

Flying high-3

.

My family is from Michigan and Northern Michigan is our home base. The 4th of July week is a special time for us, and everyone tries to make an appearance. This year we were short two family members out of 31, next year will be better..

I hadn’t planned on flying high this day, but my nephew called early, he had an open seat with my name on it. I was up and at’em, in the car and on my way within seconds … the perfect morning.

.

Kiefer 1

.

 

We took flight at approximately 7am. Thin clouds were hovering the ground, a look I liked …  The body of water you see is Lake Michigan, and across the way is the City of Petoskey.

.

Our route took us north, passing over Nub’s Nob Ski Resort. Nub’s is hands Kieferdown the best ski area in the Midwest. It offers 53 ski slopes, and trails, on 3 separate peaks. The staff is exceptional from top to bottom, east to west, and north to south. Nub’s loves to boast of their fresh homemade food, an award winning lodge, and the most highly decorated snow making and snow grooming crew in the Midwest. I can attest to all of the above.

We continued north towards Mackinaw City. By car the drive takes a good hour or so, but as Kiefer flies … minutes!

.

Inland Michigan is rural, hilly, green and lush. Dotted throughout the countryside are wonderful little restaurants, all with their own unique ‘up north’ ambiance.

.

Kiefer-2

.

The Big Mac. Impressive view? I’d say!  The body of water you see is the Straights of Mackinac, the narrow waterway separating the U.S. State of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula from its Upper Peninsula. Bella !

.

Flying high now-2

.

Kiefer-4

.

We then banked to the right and followed the Eastern shoreline south towards the Point Nipigon area. The second photo is of Nipigon….

I have relatives in Nipigon, if I’m wrong, I’m sure I will hear …

.

Flying high 2

.

 

Flying high 3

.

The next spectacular view,from my perch, was of Little Traverse Bay, the City of Harbor Springs, and the mile long peninsula, Harbor Point. In other words, my Heaven on Earth.

.

Kiefer-5

.

Kiefer-6

.

The pilot had us, my mother and I, in the air for just about an hour. I couldn’t have asked, or dreamt, of a better way to start my day…  Thank you Kiefer!

.

Kiefer-3

.

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Pure Michigan

  1. Breathtaking shots! I would have been scared but those pictures are worth it all! I’m glad you’re in your heaven on Earth!

  2. Bravo Michelle and Kiefer! I have seen it, live it and love it and these photos still make my heart go pitter patter.

  3. Wow! Thank you for sharing. I have gotten such an appreciation for an area that I had never known to be so beautiful from your photographs! XoXo

  4. This is absolutely Divine Michelle.  Glorious shots, brilliant angles and just magnificent colors.   You really captured your love of Michigan and showed some phenomenal scenery.  Wonderful work.   You make it seem easy. XOX Kath

  5. I can attest that Nub’s Nob is spectacular! Lucky to have been there. And, the pictures you took look “fake.” They are so beautiful. Love seeing Harbor Springs from the air. What a beautiful perspective that you shared with us, your fans.

  6. Your perspective of the POINT caught my eye and imagination. Mother Nature’s right arm cuddling her fleet, protective.

Leave a Reply

