The Year of the Sheep

.

untitled-36-Edit-Edit-Edit

.

Hello again. I have been purposely holding back for fear of the same ole same ole. Me, myself, and I are the most critical of my photo’s. I am a realist and I know where I stand, I am not kidding anyone, least of all yours truly. I fancy myself as a solid ‘good’ photographer that is striving to get better… and I have been. It’s not like I haven’t been shooting, it’s just that I haven’t been posting. As I’ve said before, my photos appear to get better with age, they take on a maturity that only time can cure. I will look at them once, leave them alone, and return when the dust has settled …  Sooo, what I’m sayin’ is, these are better than I thought.

.

untitled-175-Edit-Edit

.

My new direction, as of late, has been to photograph events …  Documentation with a fine eye. Not as easy for me as it felt while I was shooting amongst the crowd, but that’s OK, ‘it’s a process’, as I was kindly reassured by a close friend. These images were taken in Chicago’s Chinatown celebrating the Chinese New Year, the Year of the Sheep.

.

untitled-261-Edit

.

untitled-125-EditMy wide-angle street shots were  disappointing as a whole, but practice will make perfect. I just have to keep on keeping on.

Because I am my worst critic, that small fact, my Dear Watson, keeps me on my toes.

Coincidentally, I am also my best fan !  Where I feel I hit a home run, in this shoot, were of the faces in the crowd. Detail, color, and texture …

.

.

untitled-116-Edit

.

.

untitled-121-Edit

.

.

untitled-187-Edit-Edit

.

.

untitled-215-Edit-Edit

.

In order to get better, one must use their camera as much as possible. This is a basic truth … and one that I adhere to. Simple exercises can go a long way, and much is to be learned from the simple shot.

.

untitled-109-Edit-2

.

The next stop? The St Patrick’s Day Parade … from the front of the line.

8 thoughts on “The Year of the Sheep

  1. “Did I shoot that?” “Did I write that?” We both ask. It’s not a fear of failure, but a fear of living up to ‘that’ again. We’ve both felt that sense of ‘gee that looks like/sounds like’! Can ‘I’ do ‘that’ again? I find that writing intros are just my warm up. Perhaps your first few shots are the same way? As the lines and paragraphs unfold the rhythm returns and the keystrokes get faster. It’s the same with the compositional eye — it ‘sees’ more as we shoot more. It is the eye of many; the many photos we’ve taken before, and the shots of others we’ve admired — and hated — before. The great ones, however, produce even when they don’t ‘feel’ it. That’s the challenge!

Leave a Reply

