Cuba: #5 The Final episode …

.

untitled-435-Edit

.

This will be my last post on Cuba … from this trip.  Our final two days and nights were spent in Trinidad with a detour to Cienfuegos en route. There is a ton of history in both of these towns but I was so intent on the people and their daily lives that any other thought was kept at bay. I think I’ve said it all, my gushing is over, and the obvious is apparent. In this final episode the pictures will speak for me.

.

untitled-412-Edit

.

 untitled-155

.

untitled-276

.

untitled-236-Edit

.

untitled-428-Edit-Edit

.

untitled-262-Edit

.

untitled-374-Edit

.

untitled-355-Edit

.

untitled-346-Edit

.

untitled-460-Edit-Edit

.

untitled-441-Edit

.

untitled-104

.

untitled-403-Edit-Edit

 ya gotta love his hat!

.

untitled-356-Edit

.

untitled-177

.

untitled-37

.

untitled-347-Edit

.

 untitled-458-Edit

.

untitled-406-Edit

.

untitled-33

.

untitled-362-Edit

.

untitled-93

.

untitled-488-Edit

.

untitled-138-Edit-2.

untitled-110

.

Trinidad and Cienfuegos are beautiful sleepy towns on the Southern Coast of the Island.  After the hustle and bustle of Habana you may find them a welcome retreat.

untitled-533-Edit

.

I realize that some of these images are a bit soft in their focus. My last day on the Island I was  practicing ‘back button focus’.  If this were any other post I would not reveal those photos, I have my pride to consider …. but this is Cuba!

To Petey E. and anyone else who is thinking of going:  Cigars and Rum, a few of your closest buddies, great music, delicious food, and to share this amongst some of the loveliest people I’ve met … need I say more?   I realize everyone has their own comfort level when traveling, personally I like to get in the thick of it and mingle with the locals.  I walked into areas most tourists would not and never felt threatened, awkward, or even out of place. Now don’t be to confident and leave your purse on a chair, one must always be aware, I’m just sayin’ I felt safe wherever I ventured.  Now let me leave you with this final question you may be asking yourself:  Michelle, would you go back?

 Yes, in a heartbeat… 

 

7 thoughts on “Cuba: #5 The Final episode …

  1. Oh, Michelle, you do such a beautiful job of telling us about the people in front of your lens. I’m envious of your ability to see what the surroundings tell us about the subject. Wonderful work. I’m hoping we can go together to Africa in ’17. Been back logged, sick with bronchitis for almost a month so haven’t gotten to 3 & 4. I know I will savor each and every image. Iceland was simply awesome.

    Joni

    Joan I. Haugen Wolff (239)293-3487 jwolff@midco.net

    >

  2. You captured the core of Cuba, the part concealed by skin and buffered by flesh. The core is the heart that sustains existence. Well done.

  3. Michelle: Great shots! I want to go the next time as I’m sure you’ll do it again. Uncle Ed

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Magnificent Michelle! The bandwidth of your visual captures is deep and wide. What a wonderful experience for you.

  5. I hope you do go back! It will be different soon, so I’m glad you captured such beautiful images of such a beautiful people just as they are today. Great shots!!

  6. Incredible Mitch. You really captured the feel of the towns and the personalities of the people photographed. I get it!

Leave a Reply

