Cuba: in Black & White

.

untitled-358-Edit-2-Edit

.

 A Double Entendre

… ambiguity of meaning arising from language that lends itself to more than one interpretation…

 

This time around I left my rose colored glasses at home and I was standing on firm ground.  This trip took me to rural areas low and high, and city sights that blew me away. It’s true, the Cubans have nothing tangible.  But before I continue on with this B&W post, I need to mention again that the people of Cuba are beautiful in body and soul.

.

While in Holguin I needed to buy a pair of sandals, my gym shoes were too warm for the Cuban heat.  On my way to the store I met up with two young men, we talked of the USA and that their father lived in Miami.  Knowing that I needed sandals they took me to the ‘shoe’ store.  Thank God they were with me… I wouldn’t have known where to begin.

.

untitled-306

.

untitled-304

.

They spoke to their friend behind the counter and the next thing I knew a great pair of size 7 sandals were mine.  I may have payed more than the average Cuban …. but that’s OK.

.

Later that same day while we were exploring the City of Holguin we came upon a home for pregnant girls. Manuello, who rolls as if he were sitting on the ball head of a tripod, decided that we should stop and introduce ourselves … so we did.

untitled-447-Edit-Edit

.

After a small discussion between Manu and the Doctors we were invited into the home to photograph the girls and their surroundings.  This is a home / hospital  for young pregnant woman that live too far from the ‘hospital’, or just need a place to relax and deliver… many situations are in play.

.

untitled-452-Edit

.

I was a bit intimidated photographing under these circumstances, but then again I couldn’t resist. Everyone was very gracious and welcoming, and I was very considerate and thankful.

Education is big in Cuba, and I have no doubt that the doctors are excellent …

.

untitled-455-Edit

.

untitled-457-Edit-Edit

.

On the road again Manu spotted a home just up the hill from our route.

  Guyz Guyz !  Meetchel come here!

.

untitled-40-Edit-2

.

… so we did !  Our group consisted of 5 student photographers, Manuello – the top dog, and Miyal – his nephew and right hand man.  This lovely family that we surprised out of the blue clear skies welcomed us with open arms and Rum !
The Cubans love their Rum …

.

untitled-22-Edit-Edit-Edit

.

untitled-33-Edit-Edit

.

untitled-26-Edit

.

untitled-34-Edit-Edit-Edit-Edit .

Nothing ….

 … but this family could not have been more gracious and welcoming. They may not own much, but you can see the pride that they share from the twinkle in their eyes. I know at least 5 people live here. The older men, the  patriarch and his brother, must live close by.

  We stayed for an hour or so, shared some rum, photographed anywhere we liked,  and bid adieu.

What an experience !

.

untitled-44-Edit-Edit

.

In my last post I showed you some images of the children from San Luis.

Here are some more scenes from this untouched Cuban Village:

just another day in the life of …

.

untitled-249-Edit

.

untitled-274-Edit

.

untitled-212-Edit

.

untitled-198-Edit

.

The village of San Luis was a highlight.

.

untitled-380-Edit

.

Santiago de Cuba during the Blue Hour

.

untitled-403-Edit

.

I have much more to show and tell.

How fortunate am I to have had two beautiful trips to Cuba with two incredible photography groups.  I loved my trip to Havana with Muench Photographers, I couldn’t have painted the picture any better.   And Manuello Paganelli, what can I say?  I loved this trip just as much  but with a different lens and a different focal point.

God Bless America

 

Please stay tuned for more of Cuba from this trip:

  • The Cuban Way of Life  : how the Cubans make a living

  •  Landscapes of Cuba

  • The Sounds of Cuba !

  • and The Carnival of Santiago de Cuba

4 thoughts on “Cuba: in Black & White

Leave a Reply

