Cuban Portraits

.

untitled-407-2

.

This time around I had a photographic purpose, portraits.

  There are several ways of photographing a ‘portrait’ but my focus was, and is, on the traditional portrait and the environmental portrait…

.

untitled-189

.

Just 24 hours ago I realized my niche, I discovered what gives me the most joy …

… and when the bells started to ring I felt the warmth return to my face and I typed a little bit faster …

it’s been a long time coming.

This was all sublime when I was actively shooting, but now reviewing these photo’s I get the most rewarding sense. I remember the exchanges that took place and how I wanted to capture my subjects.

.

untitled-514-edit

.

The Traditional Portrait

In this type of portrait the object is supposed to look directly at the camera and the focus is on the face.

.

I love the image of the woman above, I love the lighting, the colors, her expression, and her sense of strength. This was taken  during a Santeria ceremony. The Santeria Religion is a syncretism that combines different beliefs while blending practices of various schools of thought. It’s a fascinating ritual that deserves a post of it’s own ….  soon.

.

untitled-402-edit-edit

.

The cowboy, el vaquero, never said a word.  He’s a hired hand and a neighbor to the ranch that we visited, he’s just as mysterious as he looks …

.

untitled-110-copy-copy

.

What a face …  This man was just sitting around, typical of the Cuban way of life.

  I find myself wondering about him? I imagine he has a robust laugh and kind soul, I can see it in his eyes.

.

untitled-244-edit-copy-copy

.

I was being serenaded …….

 .

The Environmental Portrait

The environmental portrait means that you are photographing the object in its own environment, where it is most comfortable

.

untitled-456-2-edit

.

untitled-399-edit-edit-copy

.

The Caballero on horseback is also a hired hand.  He is in his 80’s and has worked on this ranch most of his life, he is the next best thing to family.

.

untitled-497-edit-edit

.

I am haunted by this image … Did I buy what this man was selling?

  No, I don’t think I did, and I cannot comprehend why !

.

untitled-470-2-edit

.

untitled-366-edit-2

.

untitled-301-edit-copy

.

untitled-205-edit

.

untitled-272-edit-copy-copy

.

Louie and I connected ! I took several photo’s of him. Even though this one is a bit soft in the focus I think it shows his spirit. He waved me into his circle and behind the ropes that separated us, we both had grins from ear to ear ….

These subjects are the ‘official’ beginning of my quest to become an accomplished portrait photographer.  I love to photograph everything, but portraits are where I feel the excitement and the reward …. the beauty is:

I can only get better!

.

This concludes my epiphany, I have more to show but let’s take a break …..

… and again I want to thank all of you who take the time to read my posts, and to those of you who comment on my blog, facebook, or the emails that you have sent me. I don’t respond to your comments but I cherish each and every one.

Thank you !

.

untitled-207-copy-copy

 

.

12 thoughts on “Cuban Portraits

  1. No doubt indeed – your portraiture is sparkling with your joy!!! Fantastic Michelle.
    so happy for you that you have found your photographic dharma, your photographic soul.

  2. Mitch-Love that this is your new focus. You are very good at this. I was mesmerized looking at all of these beautiful people. Great job!

Leave a Reply

