Soup of the Evening, Beautiful Soup …

     soup's on-2

.

 I am having a Soup Sandwich … and the definition of  ‘ Soup Sandwich ‘?  something impossibly messy, or impossible to deal with.  Well, lets hope it gets better. I have been shooting soup off and on now for a few months. I am trying to just go with the flow, how I feel it, and how I see it … lets just say ‘ I’m in the soup.’

The word soup dates back to 6000 BC. The English word ‘soup’ originated from the Middle Ages word ‘sop’: a bread slice over which meat drippings were ladled.  The noun ‘soup’ is defined by Webster as a liquid food made by boiling or simmering meat, fish, or vegetables with various added ingredients.

Today ‘soup’ takes on many different hats.  ‘Soups On’ means dinner is ready, whether it is soup or not. ‘Laughing Soup’ refers to liquor or champagne (been there, done that).  And to ‘Soup Up’ refers to added power, especially horsepower.  Did you know worries go down better with soup ? and that a clean tie attracts the soup of the day ?

Let me show you my ‘soup’d up’ images …

.

soup's on

.

The above is a Tortilla Soup …. homemade from Costco What I like is the composition (of course),  just the soup itself is in focus and the bowl is slightly soft .  Here is another image of the same soup and same angle shot my way.

      soup's on-4     …..    Ah yes,  the seductive one.

.

‘Soup’ can also mean a thick fog, dense …. hmmm, something to ponder.     

 .

soup's on-3

.

Above we have a Lentil Soup, homemade by one of the best cooks I know, my mother-in-law.  This soup was made with TLC, a bushel and a peck, and a hug around the neck !  Doesn’t get much better than that …. especially if you like lentils.  And below, behind curtain number one :

.

soup's on-7

.

.              ………….            soup's on-6

.

Oh, did I forget to mention that ‘soup’ to me also means chili.  I made the above chili, and my tasters wanted more. Not bad, not bad at all. Again, the chili is in focus, and the bowl is just slightly soft … I have another chili I labored over, a White Chili. Lets indulge, shall we:

.

        soup's on-9

.

soup's on-10

.

I am not sure what I like about the White Chili shots, and my taste testers weren’t crazy about it either.  Maybe it’s the over-all color of the images, or the lack of color, I’m not sure.  I do know that I am taken with the ‘soft focus’ on my images, but again I don’t know why or where it came from ….

.

Kedall,nitelife,chili

.

Most of the images were shot up close and personnel,  almost wide open, and very little background.  It will be interesting to see how my soup shots evolve thru time …   So, what do you think ?  This is not duck soup for me.  I am shooting with everything I know, from soup to nuts.   Oh sure, some shots look like I was drinking potato soup, but that’s not so …..   At the last-minute, of the eleventh hour, at the end of the day …. I did it  my way.

soup's on-5  .. 

“Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew

When I bit off more than I could chew

But through it all, when there was doubt    …. ”   

8 thoughts on “Soup of the Evening, Beautiful Soup …

  1. Yes, you did it your way, and perfectly. I like the tiny bubbles in the fluid soups, they look like crayfish eyes at attention. ‘Your vagabond blues are melting away’….

  2. I like the white shots. I think the contrast of the white chili with the bowl makes the food “pop.” It looks as if it is standing in the bowl, waiting for a spoon. I also like the (is it mushroom) soup in the antique glass bowls. I remember that shot from 2012, I think! That shot tells the story of an elegant dinner party on a dusky winter afternoon. Most importantly, look back at your archive list! You have been doing this! You have persevered. You have created! You have found the prayed-for passion and you are doing it! Keep going.

  3. Michelle.. with each soup, you captured exactly what the hungry reader wants….. SOUP!! Great job on all these shots and your blogs are written with such love for your endless talents!! Thank you for sharing!

  4. Oh the lentil shot! Your focus has the lentils resting atop a carrot lilly pad above “the soup,” pondering the refllecting floral rim over there “on the same level.” Texture, taste and warmth!

  5. Shells your photography is amazing! I really love looking at your site, each time it gets better and better!
    xoxo

  6. Ready for soup! Definitely capturing the elements of the subject (soup) rather than the bowl , but i wonder if a different color bowl might have let the white chili show off better? I love your blog and the commenters too! The food is always seen so intimately (see commenter notes about the lentils).

Leave a Reply

